Books in my TBR Pile from Filipino Diaspora Authors

As I am burning out from delivering fresh content in my blog (🥺), I had this little idea about promoting books from Filipino diaspora authors I’m looking forward to read. I think that it’s great to share my thoughts about each and one of these, since October is Filipino American History Month.

For what seems to be the longest time, I’m still in high hopes that I can read [nearly] all of these recommendations. Please bear with me, since I’m just new in this community, and most of these books are still in my to-read list.*

Continue reading “Books in my TBR Pile from Filipino Diaspora Authors”

Story Magic by Laurel Gale: unique, intricate, and tender story that caters feminism & finding yourself

Whenever a book comes out with an appealing cover and a sweet description, I immediately sit down in my couch and chaotically sign myself up. To what seems to be the longest time, I’ve been craving for some more; a story that centers feminism and love for the family—and Story Magic by Laurel Gale was just what I wanted after all.

Although the story has a couple of flaws, Story Magic was undeniably a rollercoaster ride, with the commitment of yearning and soul-searching. As a middle grade fantasy, this book is something that I value with all my heart, because of its tender writing style and a captivating storyline.

Continue reading “Story Magic by Laurel Gale: unique, intricate, and tender story that caters feminism & finding yourself”

Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer: a riveting debut with a lyrical prose, & the voice of the galaxy

I’ve been quite struggling while writing this book review, because Crownchasers doesn’t deserve me to have such a nuanced justice. To sum it up, this debut novel just piqued my attention right away, with its lush writing style, and a twist you ain’t ready for.

While scrolling through GoodReads, I saw Crownchasers being pitched perfect for fans of The Hunger Games, Three Dark Crowns, and Aurora Rising. Even though I haven’t yet picked these up, I knew that it will be incredibly written, and will stand as the voice of what it seems to be in the galaxy. Thank you so much to the author and her team for providing me a review copy.

Continue reading “Crownchasers by Rebecca Coffindaffer: a riveting debut with a lyrical prose, & the voice of the galaxy”

A Month in the Blogosphere: sending my warmest hugs for y’all!

Sometimes, a messy year brings the unexpected, and 2020 does. I never thought that I’ll be launching my blog this year, but because of my commitment to promote literature in the best way I can, and with the inspiration of each and everyone of you—I did it!

On September 22, it’s the first month of this baby blog, and as a celebration, I’ll be writing the history of Books n’ Daydreams! It took somewhat a fairly long time to figure out what title is most suitable, and I practiced my unique skills in designing banners for my posts. This might seem to be slightly in advance, but I just needed to shout about it!

Continue reading “A Month in the Blogosphere: sending my warmest hugs for y’all!”